Home Is Where The Heart Is

DSCN8916
***************
For today’s challenge Elizabeth Craft Designs are giving away a $20 Gift Card to use on the Elizabeth Craft Designs website to 3 winners. 

To enter simply leave a comment on the Elizabeth Craft Designs Challenge post and tell us “Which dies from Susan’s collection make you think of your home?”

http://wp.me/p4kQzc-6Sg

We will select 3 lucky winners in a random drawing

The winners will be announced on Friday, August 11  on the Elizabeth Craft Designs blog.
**************

One of the things I love the most about the drive to our family cottage Down East in June are the Lupines. They are so bright and vibrant; they just make me happy!

IMG_0319

They grow along the sides of roads and in ditches everywhere.

So, for the Susan’s Design Team’s August Challenge “Home is where the Heart is“, I had to give them a try with Susan Tierney-Cockburn’s Garden Notes – Blue Bonnets/Lupine die as well as the English Cottage 2.

Lupine colours range from pale pink to deep purple and even to a deep almost burgundy red. Mine were coloured with Copic markers on Elizabeth Craft Designs Soft Finish Cardstock (85lb-230g). To make the flowers you can follow Susan’s YouTube video.

IMG_0426

As a setting for my Lupines, I created the English Cottage 2 with the same cardstock using Tim Holtz’s Distress Oxide Inks. I cut two of the roof sections and coloured the bottom one darker. When gluing them together I offset them just slightly to create a shadow effect for depth.

DSCN8920

The background was created using CountryScapes –  Mountains and the largest of the Scalloped Circles. I cut two of the circles. One was coloured a pale blue using Susan’s PanPastel set. The second circle I cut with the Mountains die and coloured with PanPastels. Using Clear Double Sided Adhesive I attached the two together.

 

Once the pieces were all made I assembled them using Kids Choice Glue and mounted everything on coloured cardstock (6X12 folded in half).

The finished card certainly remind me of a place that has my heart. I hope you have a place just like it!

Don’t forget to go to the Elizabeth Craft Designs Blog to pick your favourite design for a chance to win the gift card!  http://wp.me/p4kQzc-6Sg

Leave a Reply

